SEARCH IN VAULT BY APPOINTMENT ONLY
MARRIAGE LICENSE BY APPOINTMENT ONLY
FOR APPOINTMENT CALL 417-741-7322
Payment by Cash or Check Only
The Recorder of Deeds office is responsible for recording and maintaining records pertaining to real property and for issuing and maintaining Marriage Licenses. The office also records and maintains Military Discharges.
The Recorder’s office has a Public Access room with computers for anyone to use for searching documents. Copies may be printed for $1.00 per page.
Grantor/Grantee, legal description, Book and Page numbers and any reference Book and Pages of documents are available (without images) at wrightmo.icounty.com. User ID and Password are “Guest”.
RECORDING OF DOCUMENTS
The Recorder of Deeds office currently accepts documents for recording by walk-ins, mail, and by electronic recording.
We do not provide document forms, notary services or legal advice. Documents submitted must meet the State of Missouri recording requirements.
E-recording is an excellent option for title companies, banks, lawyers and other businesses that have frequent recordings. They can electronically submit documents through an eRecording vendor.
The benefits of eRecording are:
- Easy set up
- No software to install
- Document security
- Electronic payment
- Rapid turnaround of rejected documents
For additional information, or to set up an account, contact Stacy at 417-818-4299, or email to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Applications for Marriage Licenses are taken Monday-Friday from 8am-12pm and from 1pm-3:45pm by appointment only until further notice.
Apply for Marriage License in Wright County
To apply for a Marriage License, both applicants must come to the Recorder’s office in the Wright County Courthouse at 125 Court Square, Room 204 in Hartville, MO. If either applicant is unable to appear in person because of military service, incarceration or ADA qualifying disability, they may use an affidavit of Absent Applicant. Forms can be obtained from the Recorder’s office.
The State requirements for purchasing a marriage license are:
- Must be 16 years of age or older
- Applicant 16 or 17 years of age must provide a certified birth certificate and be accompanied by their parent/guardian to give consent; and parent/guardian must provide proof of custody, if divorced, or proof of guardianship
- No person 21 years or older may marry anyone under the age of 18 years
- Must not be related to each other through and including first cousins
- Must present a valid government-issued photo ID, certified copy of birth certificate, or valid passport
- If previously married, must provide date that previous marriage ended
- Must pay $46 cash only at the time the license is issued
- Must use license within 30 days of issuance
After the marriage ceremony and the Marriage License has been returned to the Recorder of Deeds office and processed, a certified copy can be obtained for $9.00. A certified copy is required by Social Security and the Driver’s License Bureau in order to change your name.
NOTICE TO OFFICIANTS
According to Missouri State Law, the ceremony officiant is responsible for completing the Marriage Certificate and the Marriage License following the ceremony. Laws pertaining to the completion of the Marriage License and legal requirements are printed on the back of the Marriage License, or can be found on the State of Missouri website.
The Marriage License is to be returned to the Recorder of Deeds office within 15 days of the ceremony.
Questions regarding on-line ordination of clergy and/or the legality of on-line ordination should be addressed to legal council. You may also go to State of Missouri, Revised Statutes or RSMo 451.100.